Skip to content

Easter

April 1, 2013

I love an excuse to put up a few decorations and string up a few lights and Easter is no exception. I also have a flat full of flowers thanks to the generosity of my friends.

So in pictures – Easter in my suburban flat.

20130401-214415.jpg

20130401-214948.jpg

Flowers

20130401-214654.jpg

20130401-214735.jpg

Easter baking for my friends

20130401-214452.jpg

These are ordinary fairy cakes made with the classic 4,4,4 and 2 recipe then iced with water icing. The decorations came from stock which means the selection we made from fondant icing earlier and keep in little drawers in my parents cellar.

There was also chocolate mousse. This is made to a secret family recipe known only to my aunt, my mum, my two female cousins and me. It was my aunt’s secret but fifteen years ago my grandfather died and some months later the terrible truth dawned. He had not recorded his recipe for pickled onions. We’ve made many attempts to recreate them and all have failed. My aunt decided the time had come to share the secret so the recipe was written out four times and presented to the grown up females in the family to ensure the recipe is not lost.

20130401-215338.jpg

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

