Skip to content

New Things in July

August 11, 2013

It’s more or less a third of the way through August already (How did that happen?) so it is time I posted this.

July was a relatively quiet and peaceful month aside from some domestic drama which has no place here.

So I’ll begin with new recipes/ ingredients. I’ve been a busy bee cooking wise in July and because of the heat wave only one of my new recipes has required turning on the oven. I’ve had no wish to roast myself.

I made Nigella’s cheesy stars twice.

Once for work drinks to celebrate a really big programme achievement which we are all very proud of. As it was for a celebration I used edible glitter so we could have Gold Stars. I can now tell you edible glitter makes even grown ups very happy.

20130804-091913.jpg

When I made then again for friends at a Stitch and Bitch I used Parmesan to top them rather than the glitter.

20130804-092019.jpg

There were two new ingredients in this. Celery salt in the biscuit dough which oddly enough I’ve never used before and edible glitter which was also a first.

The Stitch and Bitch was attended by a friend who is gluten free and I wanted something gooey and sinful she could eat. So I adapted my normal Rocky Road recipe and switched the rich tea biscuits for GF digestives (they don’t appear to make GF rich tea) then proceeded as usual. I think it was successful although several of the gluten eaters who sampled it put in a plea for more biscuit next time. I took their point I do usually use more biscuit but GF biscuits are a rip off so I would only buy one packet and it was not generously sized. The Rocky Road was very pretty though.

20130804-092432.jpg

There are other culinary efforts but I think I’ll give them their own entry later.

New places are not as exciting as I might like but there were some.

I went to the amazing Rock Star afternoon tea at the W Hotel in Leicester Square. The hotel was totally new to me and the mirrored ladies lavatory was a truly disorientating experience. However the tea itself was amazing and I was so glad I’d eaten a very light breakfast and no lunch at all there’s no way I’d have been able to do it justice. Needless to say I also eschewed dinner and had only the lightest of suppers before bed.

20130811-183434.jpg

20130811-183447.jpg

I also went to The Covent Garden Cocktail Club to sample more Gin cocktails. I really liked it there and will definitely go again.

Knitting wise it’s been a quiet month and I’ve not made nearly as much progress as I might have hoped. I am still frantically knitting baby B’s jumper and hoping that I will manage to finish it before he grows out of it. Babies grow so fast.

I’ve also continued to search for the perfect project for the beautiful Arucania Lonco Multy L gave me for my birthday and at long last my diligent searching of Ravelry paid off and I found this.

I cast on at once. Rows 1-10 lulled me into a false sense of security and I though it was going to be one of those deceptive knits that look fiendish but in reality are easy. Row 11 disabused me of this optimistic thought. I’ve lost count of the number of times I tinked back and reknitted that row. Then I discovered it wasn’t Row 11 that was the problem instead I was losing yarn overs on Row 12. Once I’d cracked that I had it sussed.

I rather think this will be a long term project where I knit a repeat then put it down again but it is so pretty and does the gorgeous yarn justice.

20130811-183011.jpg

There have been plenty of candidates for my new author too but after some consideration I’ve decided that it has to be Mary Roach who wrote “Stiff: The curious life of human cadavers”. Sarah highly recommended it and lent me her copy so I gave it a go. I’m not sure what I was expecting, I think I thought I’d find it macabre or revolting but actually I was simply fascinated.

I’d never considered any other use for cadavers than anatomical dissection before and it was eye opening to discover how many other things they can be used for and the difference they can make to the living. Surgeons can practise complex surgery on someone who cannot be harmed, car manufacturers can find out what happens in collisions, defence researchers can find out which footwear best protects someone who stands on a landmine.

It was very thought provoking and I find myself wondering if I’d be willing to donate my own corpse when I’m dead. Although I have a donor card I suspect my organs will not be useful to the transplant programme because I’ve had so much steroid but if nothing else this book made me realise there are other ways the empty shell that will remain could benefit someone somewhere after I’m gone. I haven’t made a final decision but I haven’t ruled it out either.

Other new things:

I visited a school I suppose that’s another new place as I’d not been to that school before. I liked the school and thought I could do something to help them and the Head and Chair of Governors liked me and my experience so I will be their local authority community governor from September.

I’ve also been looking at new houses which is really rather exciting. So far I’ve looked at three and although none of them was quite what I’m looking for I’m optimistic that in time I’ll find the right place for me. I love my flat. It has big rooms and is light and airy but I would like off street parking and a tiny patch of garden where I could sit with a book and glass of wine. I’ll keep looking.

Unfortunately the elderly frail ward at Lewisham hospital has also become all too familiar even though I barely knew it existed until the 19th. It become my Grandmother’s temporary home for three weeks until a more permanent one was found.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. That is such a pretty pattern and yarn. I look forward to seeing it complete some day.

Leave a Reply

