Skip to content

Raspberry Ice Cream

August 14, 2013

I’ve been planning lots of posts in my head but failed to actually write or post any of them because I’ve been preoccupied with Drama. It’s resolving itself slowly so I’m going to try and write a few of the posts up now.

The failed Asti and Elderflower Sorbet knocked my confidence a bit. It was my first ever failure since I acquired my lovely Magimix ice cream maker and I was disproportionately upset by it.

I did a bit of research (Google is my friend) and discovered there were probably three reasons it all went horribly wrong.

The first was that the recipe probably contained too much alcohol in relation to sugar and water which would have made it difficult to freeze anyway.

The second was the heat wave we were experiencing in southern England. In Northern Europe you are told to freeze the ice cream bowl for at least 12 hours. In warmer climates the bowl has to be frozen for at least 24 hours! As the temperature had been in the high twenties/ low thirties I should have frozen the bowl for longer.

Finally when the weather is hot you should chill your prepared ingredients in a fridge for at least four hours not try to freeze them from room temperature as I normally would.

This time around I ensured I chilled the ingredients thoroughly and I froze the bowl 48 hours in advance. The resulting ice cream was perfect.

20130814-193114.jpg

This recipe is adapted from my Ben and Jerry’s ice cream recipe book. The only real change I made was to use frozen not fresh raspberries. I choose to do this because frozen raspberries are about two thirds cheaper and as I was going to crush and freeze them anyway it seemed pointless to spend extra on fresh ones. If you use frozen raspberries you need to increase the sugar by around 20 -25%.

Interestingly the resultant ice cream was a much more vivid pink colour than when I’ve made it with fresh raspberries.

Ingredients

Makes 1 generous quart equal to just over a litre or 2 pints

1 pint fresh raspberries (I used 2 300gm bags of frozen ones)
1½ US cups of Sugar (as I was using frozen raspberries I increased the sugar by ½ cup)
The juice of half a lemon
2 large eggs
2 US cups heavy or whipping cream (I used 2 x 300ml containers of supermarket whipping cream)
1 US cup milk

Method

Put raspberries in a large bowl. Add ¾ cup of sugar (1 ¼ cups if using frozen raspberries) and the lemon juice then put in the fridge for at least 2 hours stirring every 30 minutes.

Whisk the eggs until they are light and fluffy. Whisk ¾ cup of sugar into the eggs. When they are well mixed add the cream and milk and whisk again. (I cheat and use my beloved Kenwood Chef Mixer to whisk) Chill in hot weather when it is cooler you can churn immediately.

Drain the juice from the raspberries into the cream mixture and stir.

Mash the remaining raspberries until pureed and stir them into the cream mixture. (If you prefer larger pieces of raspberry, reserve them until the ice cream stiffens then add them to the mixture. Churn for about 2 minutes more.)

Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.

I often halve this recipe. There are no preservatives other than the sugar so it only keeps for 3-4 weeks in the deep freezer.

It also contains raw egg so all the usual precautions apply.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

