Skip to content

New Things in October

November 1, 2013

Another month has been and gone. They say time flies when you’re having fun and I am. They also say the older you get the faster time passes and I’m also finding that’s true but let me tell you I’m having far more fun now than I ever did a decade ago.If nothing else age brings more confidence and I’m a lot more comfortable in my own skin but I’m digressing as always.

I’ll begin with my new author. This month my new author was Sam North, I blush to admit it was a TV tie in about Doc Martin which my Mum lent me. It was not a book I recommend. It did exactly what it said on the tin and was about the first TV series but it pretty slavishly followed the programmes with no new insights into characters. I may try some of Sam North’s original work because you can’t really judge an author’s ability on that and he is a senior lecturer at my old university so I’d like to believe his best efforts are well better.

My new food was chipotle sauce. It’s the first time I’ve cooked with it not the first time I’ve eaten it. I used a Good Food recipe and made Cheesy Bean Chipotle Quesadillas. The combination didn’t work for me. I may try quesadillas again but not with that filling.

20131101-003716.jpg

I also made Paddington Bears Iced buns using a recipe from Paddington’s Cookery Book which I bought for cooking with my niece. They were very successful and I’ve absolutely overcome my fear of cooking with yeast now. If I made them again I’d add more spice as the recipe is blander than I or indeed B liked but the recipes are designed for children.

20131031-225951.jpg

I picked up my needles and began knitting again in earnest. I used a new yarn – Sirdar Baby Crofter DK and a new pattern. It took me about three evenings to produce a baby hat for a friend’s baby son. It was simple and easy and the effect was pleasing. Big Ted is modelling my effort.

20131031-230212.jpg

As for new places, October was impressive. I unexpectedly went to New York for the weekend. Admittedly it is not a completely new place I went when I was much younger but this time I was old enough to explore and I did. I’m certain I did not wander through SoHo, Tribecca or the Lower East Side when I went to Manhattan with my parents. It was before they cleaned up New York so my parents would never have allowed my eleven year old self to stir from their side. This time I wandered to my heart’s content and I know New York Public Library was a new place as was Downtown Yarns. I will of course give New York its own entry as soon as I’ve written it,

20131101-004306.jpg

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Looks like a busy month!

Leave a Reply

