Skip to content

Things which made me happy in December

March 21, 2014

I found happiness a struggle for parts of December. It was dark, cold and grey but there were some good things.

In no particular order the things that made me smile:

K came to stay

My new festive bedding

20140321-220122.jpg
My festive bathroom accessories

20140321-220818.jpg
The now traditional Christmas Concert with family and friends at the Royal Albert Hall and dinner afterwards

My grandmother’s ninetieth birthday party

Trip to Bruges

K & L’s party at FGT

Entertaining my friends at home

A large pile of new books to read – my friends, family and Santa know me well

20140321-220239.jpg
Some amazing parcels in the post

The kindness of people too numerous to name

Christmas lights and decorations

My new Merry Christmas bunting

20140321-220350.jpg
The hedgehog measuring cups K gave me for Christmas. I smile every time I see them on the kitchen window sill

20140321-221001.jpg
The Children’s Christmas concert at the school where I’m a governor

Seeing the lights switched on the Christmas tree in Trafalgar Square

Midnight Mass at St Nicholas’

Lessons and Carols at Westminster Abbey

Saving Mr Banks on New Years Eve

The candle my niece made me for Christmas

20140321-220440.jpg
Divisional Christmas Lunch – surprising fun for a work do

Team Christmas Lunch which was also fun

Rufus – N sent him to me for my dolls house and he was a very welcome gift. Of course some of you will know why I’d call a St Bernard dog Rufus.

20140321-220515.jpg
The Thirteenth Tale – possibly the best thing on TV this Christmas but The Call the Midwife special ran it a close second

Making sweeties with two small girls. We will draw a discreet veil across the horror of the clearing up afterwards

Binny for Short – the amazing new Hilary McKay. I read it in one glorious happy sitting.

Reading the new Shirley Hughes Alfie’s Christmas with my niece

Stargazing with my niece on Christmas Eve

My Christmas jumper

20140321-220633.jpg
D stayed the night and we had a good gossip

Some lovely new tops that came from Macy’s

My brevet godparents traditional pre Christmas dinner

Playing Doggy Doo Doo and Articulate on Christmas Night. There was absolute hilarity and my sister and I won every game we played

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

