Skip to content

April’s Happy things

May 4, 2015
We’re only four days into May and I’m posting I think that might be a record.

I always enjoy April, it usually signals the start of warmer days and lighter mornings and evenings. It’s also my birthday. All the best people have birthdays in April.

It started with K’s birthday dinner and Made in Dagenham a gift from D. Dinner was delicious and the play reminded me of all the reasons I’m a feminist. Barbara Castle and the Dagenham machinists don’t get nearly enough credit for what they did for all of us.

I went to see Cinderella with my big niece and my Mum – it was the best film I’ve seen in ages all three of us had a wonderful time
My Easter decorations I do like an excuse to decorate the flat and I don’t need much of one.
   

       

Easter egg hunting with both my nieces
Going to the swings after dinner with big niece it was  the first night it has been light enough to go
Watching A View From A Bridge with L. I was on the edge of my seat hoping it would somehow have a different ending although of course it didn’t
My Birthday Tea at my sister’s
Watching my baby niece taste birthday cake for the first time – she loved it
I saw a house I wanted to buy. I could really see myself living there. Ultimately it wasn’t to be but it made me realise that there will be other houses and other opportunities. Extending the lease has given me more opportunities than I thought
I did something very brave and way out of my comfort zone. I still can’t believe I did it
L came to stay and we talked half the night
Dinner out with the girls
My Nanna knew my name and that I was her granddaughter it was only for a moment but just for a little while the Alzheimers receded and she was back with me
The sapphire bracelet my sister gave me for my birthday
My little sister got engaged – so exciting
Successful end of year review – I’m virtually Mary Poppins
Fashion on the Ration at the Imperial War Museum
Dinner at Tas
Cocktails at Young Vic
  
Cocktails at Covent Garden Hotel
Shaun the sheep hunting with big niece
Taking big niece to Waterstones to choose her own books
My own copy of Captain of the Fifth
Good work news
Lovely birthday presents and cards
Family dinner at the Turkish
E came to stay I haven’t seen her for ages and we had the chance to catch up
I saw A for the first time in a year when she came for the weekend. We talked for hours, shared confidences and she supplied some much needed moral support

Generous apology vouchers from bank


New to me cutlery – it matches the vintage pattern I already own


Lovely new US magazines mum bought back from Texas for me. I always enjoy the escapism of Southern lifestyle magazines. It’s a world away from suburban London


Amazing parcels from L


I own the  Youngest Lady in Waiting thanks to L and Margin Note Books

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

