Skip to content

Simple Log Cabin Cushion

August 29, 2015

I haven’t been able to quilt since last November for the simple reason that it hurt too much. The movement in my right foot that is necessary to push on the pedal to drive the machine was not to put too fine a point on it excruciating. I tried operating it with my left foot but in a nutshell it was not a successful experiment.

This is the very first time since my surgery in January that my repaired Achilles’ tendon has allowed me to use the sewing machine properly. I’m delighted and my project which has languished like this since November.

  
Now looks like this… 
It’s a very simple Log Cabin pattern made from a selection of pretty patterned fabrics I was given by a friend and supplemented by two others I picked up at my favourite C&H Fabrics in Canterbury. The quilting is the simplest possible a machine quilted spiral with the lines an inch apart. As I hate inserting zips it has an envelope back like this.

 
Of course I don’t actually have a spare cushion inner for it however for the purposes of this photo I have used one of my cushions. I’ll have to buy one   as this is intended as a gift for a friend (they were meant to get it at Christmas and then for their birthday) and then I will package it up and post it to its recipient.

I’m feeling very pleased with myself for actually completing it and now new quilting ideas are filing my brain. I have plans for some Christmas cushion covers after all Mum bought me some amazing Christmas fabrics from Jo Ann’s last year.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

