Skip to content

October Optimism

November 26, 2016

I really should post about October before November ends. I think my new year’s resolution needs to be around time management.

On the first day of October we made a whistle stop trip to Calais. Five of us packed into the parental car to pick up Prosecco for the wedding of the year. As I am a skilled shopper I managed a rapid trip to Sephora and Maisons du Monde too.

The next day I spent some time snuggled on the sofa with both nieces reading together this made all three of us happy.

After some distressing false starts I found the perfect dress to wear to the wedding. With grateful thanks to my friend H for acting as personal shopper, stylist and cheerleader.

My six monthly check up at the Dentist did not involve anything unpleasant or expensive.

Dahlias from Mum’s garden


One of those lovely picky dinners with Mum which we ate while watching Bake Off.

I went to a talk given by the author of The Long Weekend at the Fashion and Textile Museum and then explored the Jazz age exhibition. L and I wondered if the gold wedding dress is similar to Harriet Vane’s cloth of gold wedding dress.



Afterwards L and I had a delicious dinner at Taz.
K’s belated birthday do at Barbur

Drinkies at H’s afterwards

Walk around the Pleasance

My sister’s wedding dress fitting

I went to New Covent Garden Flower Market with my Mum and sister very early one morning to choose the flowers for my sister’s wedding. I was stunned by the beauty and quality of the flowers and it was absolutely worth the early start. We were particularly taken by the beautiful flowers on the table of the greasy spoon type cafe.


I bought some beautiful Amaryllis at the flower market but for some reason I didn’t take a photo.

Lovely Dinner with K after work.

H’s Birthday Do at Pizza Union

Clearing out my wardrobe and finally gaining some space

I managed to wear my favourite boots for a short time

Pink wine and cheese fondue with friends on a Saturday night.

I made a superb dinner from leftovers

A splendid cut and colour which as always made me feel so much better.

Meeting the girls for a post work coffee and gossip.

I had my eyebrows threaded. It’s an instant ego boost for very little time, effort and money.

My book friend K got married

Dinner with K, L, H and H. H made an amazing healthy cheesecake.


Managing to wear heels for a whole evening for the first time in more than 2 years.


The Victorian skittle alley at the Naval College

I bought a lovely black velvet jacket to wear at the wedding.

Cracked a difficult work thing

Dinner with L at The Diner

My sparkly manicure for the wedding.

The night before the wedding we all went to the Old Post Office for dinner and drinks.

My Sister’s wedding – it went very well and I think everyone enjoyed themselves. They were too polite to say if they didn’t.  I’m not putting any photos of the event online but these are the lovely flowers I brought home.

K came to stay.

Prestat champagne truffles from Liberty – Thanks K

Autumn colours


It took my mother and I two days to clear up the wedding debris but by way of reward my Dad treated us to dinner at Ziyafet.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

